Monday, March 22, 2010

Rochester's Sister Cities

Did you know that Rochester has 11 sister cities according to Sister Cities International. The purpose of sister cities is to "promote peace through mutual respect, understanding, & cooperation — one individual, one community at a time." (Sister Cities International) Here are the 11 cities we are sisters of:
Rennes, France (1958) <---The year we became sister cities
Wurzburg, Germany (1964)
Caltanissetta, Italy (1965)
Rehovot, Israel (1972)
Krakow, Poland (1973)
Bamako, Mali (1975)
Waterford, Ireland (1983)
Novgorod, Russia (1990)
Hamamatsu, Japan (1996)
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic (1997)
Xianyang, China (2008)

I tried to find websites that you could visit to learn more about these cities. Most of the above links are in English and very informative, but some I was unable to locate an English site and I could not locate any site for Caltanissetta, so it is simply a link to view the city on Mapquest. If any of you have first hand knowledge of any of these cities, please post a comment and tell us a little bite about the city.

No comments:

Post a Comment